A Mile A Day Keeps The Doctor Away

Cross Fit was my Catalyst.

Pre-Cross Fit:
I felt weak, fatigued and my body was constantly getting hurt. From an achy wrist from massaging horses, to a sharp pain in my traps from cleaning stalls. My motivation and energy levels were parallel: I felt like I was on survival and sustain mode. My weakness was visible. Shoulders were concave, deltoids minimal and I could barely lift a 5 lb dumbbell above eye level.

The Act of Cross Fit:
Allison finally persuaded me to join. I jumped in wholeheartedly and could not walk for the first week, but I kept going. It pushed my out of my comfort zone and out of my self doubt. It got me hooked on doing things that scare me. Box jumps, thrusters, burpees… I remember standing at the base of the box just visualizing my shin ramming right into the edge. My coach helped me take baby steps… Starting with a shorter distance, working my way up. I remember my hands were shaking with adrenaline just from trying to jump on this stupid box. I had to prove to myself that I could do it.

After that workout I started treating my life like a box jump. I have to prove myself that I can do it. I felt myself setting bigger goals, visualizing myself following through and growing through the process. Some days I fall right back to square one, but I keep getting up. I keep taking one step at a time.

After a couple of months, my courage to try new things and my persistence to challenge myself turned into something visible. I remember looking in the mirror and feeling a sense of gratitude and hope from my newly sculpted shoulder muscles. 

Post-Cross Fit:
Although I am no longer training with the Cross Fit crew, I taking that freshly ignited motivation and persistence with me as I go. When the days get busy with school, horses and work… I remind myself that I am still challenging myself, just in a different way than the physical and mental workout of cross fit. With school, I am strengthening my focus and my appreciation for the material being presented, as well as my ability to take one step at a time toward my goal. With work, I am strengthening my perseverance, people skills and persistence. With horses, I am strengthening my confidence, gratitude and presence.

I fell out of the loop for a couple of weeks, I noticed my eating habits declining in addition to the lack of exercise. However, this week we’re back to it.

Just like the saying, “An apple a day keeps the doctor away”, I have found a source of meditation that goes hand in hand with that physical perseverance I found with cross fit: A mile a day keeps the doctor away… Along with EATING to fuel my body.

Allison and I are going to strive for running one mile every day. Little by little, we will work ourselves up. I would love to run a marathon in the fall.

Goal: Keep setting goals that are challenging.

 


Leave a Reply

